LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Databases

Contact Us

Need Help?

Email your question.

Call: 718.430.3104

Library FAQs

About us

Databases

At a minimum, the search must include MEDLINE (or PubMed), Embase and the Cochrane Library.

Databases from the D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Searchable list of databases and e-resources from D. Samuel Gottesman Library subscriptions.

PubMed
Comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Medline (Ovid)
Search either this or PubMed.
Embase
A bibliographic database covering the international biomedical literature. Einstein's access covers 1972-present.
CENTRAL: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (EBM Reviews)
Contains over 300,000 references to controlled trials in health care. The trials are identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and from searches of the Medline and EMBASE databases.
PsycInfo (Ovid)
Index of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations are covered. Indexes more than 2,400 journals and extends from the 1800s to the present. Links to full-text of articles from journals the library subscribes to are included.
SciFinder-n
An index to chemical literature. Citations are from the CAplus database, containing over 42 million documents, and MEDLINE, with over 22 million biomedical citations. Access is also provided to CAS Registry, containing more than 104 million organic and inorganic substances and 66 million sequences. Search for substances, reactions, sequences, patents, and more. Specialized features include touch-screen enabled structure drawing.
1. Register for a SciFinder account at http://bit.ly/Einstein_SciFinder.
  YOU MUST REGISTER WITH YOUR EINSTEIN EMAIL ADDRESS.
  This is very important. Access to the web version is based on email domains.
2. SciFinder will send you confirmation by email. Click on the link in the message to activate your registration.
3. Access SciFinder at http://elibrary.einsteinmed.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org.
4. Search & enjoy.
Web of Science
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in scholarly journals covering more than 100 disciplines. Identify trends using the citation analysis tools.

DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (EBM Reviews)
Last updated in 2016. DARE contains the full-text of structured critical assessments of previously published systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. It is produced by the staff of the National Health Service Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England. DARE records cover such topics as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.