Bibliographic management software makes it easy to collect and organize references to any type of information, from journal articles to multimedia files. The software also allows students and researchers to insert their citations into papers and format them for publication painlessly. This guide lists some tools that are supported by the D. Samuel Gottesman Library.
RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool. The D. Samuel Gottesman Library has a subscription. It is available from on campus and remotely (with remote access ID and password).
New RefWorks has a streamlined, responsively-designed interface. You MUST use your institutional ID to create an account. It easy to export all of your references, file attachments, and folders from Legacy RefWorks.
Legacy RefWorks has been discontinued.
EndNote is available free of charge to current Einstein students, postdocs, faculty, and staff through the Library's site license with Clarivate Analytics.
BrowZine lets you browse, read & monitor your favorite journals with your web browser or from your Apple or Android device! Citations can be exported to your favorite citation manager.
Learn more about BrowZine.
LibKey Nomad++ is a web browser extension that provides single click access to the Library's full-text content from PubMed and publisher websites. LibKey Nomad can be used from on or off campus. Available fore Chrome, Edge, Firefox, and Safari.
Learn more about LibKey Nomad++.
Sciwheel is a platform for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. References and full-text PDFs can be imported from databases such as PubMed. Sciwheel also includes tools for annotating and sharing PDFs. The plugin for Microsoft Word allows users to insert citations into documents and create formatted bibliographies. To enable roaming access, use your Einstein email address when creating your account.
Mendeley is a free citation management tool that can be accessed on the web or installed on a computer. The desktop version is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. Sync your Mendeley database across multiple computers.
Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows users to collect, manage and cite research resources. Users can also create collections/libraries for specific research projects, share data with collaborators, and generate bibliographies.