Where is the D. Samuel Gottesman Library?
What do I need to check out books or other materials?
How long can I borrow books, journals and other items?
Do I need to come to the library to renew my book?
How do I determine if the D. Samuel Gottesman Library owns a particular item?
Is the full-text of this journal article available online?
Can I access electronic resources from off-campus?
How can I learn to use electronic databases and other library resources?
How do I order an article or book that the library does not have?
May I suggest that the library purchase a book or journal subscription?
Can I connect to the wireless network in the Library?
Can I use PowerPoint or Microsoft Word in the Library?
Present your unexpired Einstein ID to borrow materials from the library. If you are employed at an affiliated hospital, you can obtain a library barcode from the Circulation Desk at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library.
No. Go to the Library homepage to renew items. Choose the option titled "About the Library" and click "Borrow/Renew". Click on "Renew Books Online" and Login to your Library Account to renew your materials online.
Go to E-Journals on the Library homepage. Find journals by title or ISSN number and articles by PubMed ID (PMID) or DOI. Each E-Journal title has a link for more information displaying years of coverage, publisher information, locations from where the journal is accessible and any restrictions or special notes pertinent to the title.
E-Journals can also be found in Albert, the online catalog of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. Links are available for journals the library has in print or for electronic subscriptions to which the library has stable, lasting and comprehensive access.
The D. Samuel Gottesman Library is located at 1300 Morris Park Avenue (1st. floor of the Forchheimer Building) Bronx, N.Y. 10461.
Book Collection (Reading Room): 2 weeks
2 renewals possible
Overdue fines: 10 cents/day
Books on Closed Reserve: 2 hours
Books may be recalled after 2 hours if other users need them.
Overdue fines: $1.00/hour
Go to the Library website to search the complete collection of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library for books, journals or electronic resources.
Yes, we encourage your input. You can suggest a purchase and your request will be evaluated by our Collection Development Team.
Registered students, faculty and staff at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Ferkauf Graduate School of Psychology can use ILLiad to request items not owned by the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. Go to the Library homepage and click Interlibrary Loan. Fill out the form for an article, book, chapter or thesis/dissertation and the item will be borrowed from another library.
There is currently no charge for interlibrary loan requests to Einstein faculty, students, and staff.
Yes. You can use PowerPoint, Word and other Microsoft Office applications on the computers in the Library, the Beren Study Center, and in the Reading Room. You can also access your email and utilize other educational software programs using the computers throughout the library.
You can reserve a Library Group Study Room online, up to 8 weeks in advance. To reserve a room, visit our Group Study Room Reservations calendar.
Contact the Circulation Desk, firstname.lastname@example.org, 718.430.3111 if you have any questions.
Stop by the Reference Desk during regular hours, email email@example.com or call us at 718.430.3104.
The majority of our resources are available remotely. Go to the Library homepage and click on the resource you want. You will be prompted for your UserID and Password. This procedure authenticates you as a Library remote access user and provides access to electronic licensed content from your off-campus location. Please contact the Reference Department if you encounter any problems.
The D. Samuel Gottesman Library offers a variety of educational workshops each month, from basic MEDLINE searching to bibliographic citation management using EndNote. To view a list of available classes and upcoming schedule, see the Classes/Events list on the library's website. If you can't attend one of our scheduled classes, you can request a class for you or your group at a mutually convenient time. For self-directed learning, take a look at our Research Guides.
Yes. Secure wireless coverage is available in the D. Samuel Gottesman Library and on the entire Resnick (Einstein) campus. For all Information Technology (IT) related questions, please reach out to Montefiore IT Service Desk at 914.881.4554.