LibGuides: Global Health: Research

Featured Book

Books from the Library's Collection

Freely Available eBook Collections

Bentham Open Access
Peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
Bioline International
Peer-reviewed journals from Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela
Biomed Central
BioMedCentral is a STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals.
more...less...
BMC publishes 257 peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
All original research articles published are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Authors retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited. BioMed Central is owned by Springer Nature.
Free Medical Journals.com (FMJ)
FMJ has compiled a directory of online medical publications offered as a free service from Flying Publisher and Amedeo.
Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research
Highwire Press
Free access to journal articles for developing countries
HINARI
From WHO and major publishers, provides developing countries with access to a large collection of biomedical and health literature
Hindawi
Open-access journals in a wide variety of academic disciplines
Public Library of Science
Open-access biomedical journals.

PubMed Central (NIH)
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature

CANCERMondial
From WHO's International Agency for Research on Cancer, the website provides access to various databases containing statistics and other information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide.
DengueMap
Online tool from CDC, in collaboration with HealthMap, for displaying global dengue activity.
Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors
more...less...
Ebook from the Disease Control Priorities Project of the World Bank
Global Health and Human Rights Database
A fully searchable online database of more than 1000 judgments, constitutions and international instruments on the intersection between health and human rights.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
Data catalog focusing on global-health-related data.
Global Health Policy
Provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socioeconomic indicators
HealthMap (Global Health Disease Map)
Maps the current global state of infectious diseases
International Classification of Diseases (ICD)
from WHO
International Programs Center
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products.
National Center for Health Statistics
more...less...
Statistical information on America's health, including various diseases and conditions, vital statistics, health care, minority health.

NationMaster
A compilation of data that allows users to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics
From the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD
OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, featuring books, papers and statistics. Provides a gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
UNData
An entry to more than 60 million data points, covering a wide range of themes, including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
UN Millennium Development Goals Indicators
Official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.

WHO Global Health Observatory
Information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states
World Bank Open Data
Access to thousands of indicators from the World Bank.
World Health Statistics
Health data on all of the 193 WHO Member States.

Find articles and other information.